gk header

A Championship event to promote Kabaddi in KVO Jain community and to identify as well as nurture talent who can represent the game and community at highest level of competition.

Kabaddi is basically a combative sport, with seven players on each side; played for a period of 40 minutes with a 5 minutes break (20-5-20). The core idea of the game is to score points by raiding into the opponent’s court and touching as many defense players as possible without getting caught on a single breath.

One player, chanting Kabaddi!!! Kabaddi!!!! Kabaddi!!!! Charges into the opponent court and try to touch the opponent closest to him, while the seven opponents make maneuvers to catch the attacker. This is Kabaddi, the match of one against seven, known as the game of struggle.

The players on the defensive side are called “Antis” while the player of the offence is called the “Raider”. The attack in Kabaddi is known as a ‘Raid’. The antis touched by the raider during the attack are declared ‘out’ if they do not succeed in catching the raider before he returns to home court. These players can resume play only when their side scores points against the opposite side during their raiding turn or if the remaining players succeed in catching the opponent’s raider.

The origin of the game dates back to pre-historic times played in different forms. The modern Kabaddi game was played all over India and some parts of South Asia from 1930. The first known framework of the rules of Kabaddi as an indigenous sport of India was prepared in Maharashtra in the year 1921 for Kabaddi competitions on the pattern of Sanjeevani and Gemini in a combined form. Thereafter a committee was constituted in the year 1923, which amended the rules framed in 1921. The amended rules were applied during the All India Kabaddi Tournament organized in 1923.

1st World Cup of Kabaddi was organised in 2004 at Mumbai (India), India won the First World Cup by beating Iran in the finals. The second World Cup was held Panvel (India) in 2007 and India once again became Champion.

The First Asian Women Championship was held at Hyderabad in 2005 and India won the Gold Medal. Women Kabaddi was included for the first time in the South Asian Games held in Colombo, Sri Lanka in 2006.

There has been a gradual but significant change in the trends of the game since the past 50 years. What was once considered a game of brawn is not so now. The introduction of mats, shoes, new techniques & changes in rules has made the sport more interesting and advantageous to skilled players who are now able to defeat heavier players with better skills & techniques.


  1. Arjuna Award winner Abhilasha Mhatre will be the Face Of The Tournament
  2. Mumbai will be divided in 8 Zones
  3. Each Zone will have 2 teams. 1 Male and 1 Female
  4. 8 Zone will be divided in 2 Groups. Group A and Group B
  5. Each team can have maximum of 18 players on board for the competition
  6. T-shirts and Shorts will be provided to 18 shortlisted players from each team.
  7. 7 players will play in a particular match
  8. All the matches will be played on Kabaddi Mat (Rubber Mat)
  9. Age Groups – 18 years to 45 years (applicable for both Male and Female)
  10. Guidance of Nutritionist will be available throughout the event
  11. Till the tournament starts, every week 2 indoor practice sessions will be organized for each zone. Details regarding the practice will be communicated to registered participant by respective team coordinators.
  12. Every practice session will be organized under the supervision of National Level Coach and National Icon Player
  13. Snacks will be provided after every practice session
  14. Physiotherapists will be present during all practice sessions and matches

Prize Money of INR 1L for Winning Team (Men and Women Each)

Prize Money of INR 50,000 for First Runner-up Team (Men and Women Each)


  1. Registration in this event is allowed for KVO jain citizens only.
  2. Registration for this event is FREE and can be done online only
  3. Minimum age for registration is 18 and Maximum age is 45.
  4. Both, Male and Female can participate in this event.
  5. During registration, participant needs to upload copy of his / her address proof. Kindly keep it handy to avoid time-out during registration.
  6. During registration, participant needs to select a Zone he / she is competing from. Zones should be selected based on the residence location of the participant.


Zone A – Malad to Virar
Zone B – Goregaon to Mahim
Zone C – Elphinstone to Churchgate and Parel to CST
Zone D – Dadar, Matunga, Sion, Wadala, Chunabhatti
Zone E – Kurla, Ghatkopar, Vidyavihar, Chembur, Govandi, Mankhurd
Zone F – Navi Mumbai (Vashi to Panvel & Airoli to Sanpada)
Zone G – Vikroli to Mulund and Powai
Zone H – Thane to Karjat / Kasara

From above list, Identify your zone as per your residence location before proceeding for registration.